jump to navigation

So what is a good Samaritan? July 16, 2008

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Devotionals, Holidays.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Our july 4th weekend was a good one, indeed.  We took our usual annual trek to North Carolina, and experienced the fun and magic of a place we’ve known for the past 17 years.  The next morning, on the 5th, we took our time driving through some familiar territory and had some great family time before finally heading back home. 

It was late, around 8:30 PM, when we finally finished dinner and got on the interstate.  I knew we would be getting home late since the drive was going to be 5 hours (or more if you included stops for gas or bathroom breaks).  Little did I know what lay ahead.

At one particular bathroom break, we pulled into a gas station next to a GMC Yukon.  As I was getting out of the car, my internal “radar” kicked into high gear.  I took notice of the fact that the driver of the car was a female, younger than me, and she was lowering the hood back down on her car.  I noticed as I walked into the station to find the restroom, that inside her SUV were at least three kids, if not more.  Immediately I knew she was not having a good time.

Having taken care of the business at hand, I stepped out of the bathroom to find my husband talking to this woman about her car.  It seemed to be overheating, and she didn’t know why.  The car had just recently been in the shop to repair the cooling system, so there was no reason for it to be overheating.  I asked my husband if there was any way he could help the woman, seeing she was on the road by herself, with children in tow, and it was getting dark.  My wonderful husband immediately told the woman he would take a look at her car, and see if he could find a problem.  The look of gratefulness on this woman’s face was unmistakable, as she smiled and said “thanks.”

But a solution was not to be found.  My husband couldn’t find anything that would be causing the car to overheat.  So, in an effort to calm the woman’s fears, we told her we would follow her to her destination.  It was on our way, and we figured we could get her there relatively quickly and then head on home ourselves.

The trip, however, from that gas station in North Carolina to the state of Virginia, was a long one.  Every five miles or so, the woman’s car would begin to overheat again, and we would have to pull over.  A trip that should have taken 2 hours or at the most 3, took nearly 8. 

Yet my husband never tired, never became frustrated, never complained.  He worked with that car, babied it actually, until 1 AM when the woman finally said, “Look, there’s a motel right up there. I’m just going to call my brother and tell him where I’m at.  You’ve done more than enough.” And after using my cell phone to call her brother, we parted company and continued our journey to our own home, still three hours away.

As I rode quietly in the car the rest of the way home, my mind constantly wandered in the direction of the story about the Good Samaritan.  I was in deep thought about how that story should be the theme song of our daily lives: always on the lookout for a person in need.  I had known this woman needed help, and yet I don’t know that much about cars.  I knew I could pray, and did so.  But my husband was able to help practically.  And together, we provided a sense of security for this woman for at least part of her trip.

And so it was with the good Samaritan in the New Testament.  He provided for the wounded man’s physical needs, and made sure he wasn’t left alone. In doing so, he provided for the man’s security as well.  The good Samaritan was just like we were, on a journey somewhere, and yet he stopped paying attention to his own deadlines and time table, and tended to the needs of someone much less fortunate.

This is where the “rubber meets the road” in the Christian walk.  Are we going to continue on with our own schedules, our own time tables, our own concerns?  Or are we going to have our “inner radar” working so strongly, that when the Lord speaks to our hearts and says, “this one needs you right now.  Stop what you’re doing, and help this person out,” we will respond without delay.  God won’t force us to be helpful and kind; the choice is up to us.

But being the hands and the heart of the Father is the essence of the Christan walk.  It is what keeps our lives moving in His will, and keeps us close to Him, as our lives revolve around the Son.

Today’s Cookie : 

“The steadfast of mind You will keep in perfect peace, Because he trusts in You.” Isaiah 26:3

 

 

 

Comments»

1. Eric Lee - July 16, 2008

I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

2. Josh Maxwell - July 16, 2008

Can you tell me who did your layout? I’ve been looking for one kind of like yours. Thank you.

3. syinly - July 23, 2008

I had been looking for post from you. I am happy you are back at it. I can relate to the woman. I have had several cars that overheated and a good samaritan helped with car trouble numerous times. Thank God

4. The Cookie Lady - July 23, 2008

Thanks, syinly! It’s nice to know someone is reading these. 🙂

God bless you!

5. The Cookie Lady - July 25, 2008

To Eric: Thank you. I am humbled by your comments.

To Josh: The theme I use is Sapphire and I did my own header in Microsoft Word using Word Art. Hope that helps. Comment again if you need to ask more questions. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

