jump to navigation

Destiny With God July 19, 2008

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Devotionals.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I was going to have breakfast with a friend of mine this morning.  I look forward to these times, when the two of us can both get away from family and responsibilities, and just go have some “woman to woman” time.  It’s always good to have this kind of time, for relating and for sharing hearts and for talking about things that our husbands and kids aren’t usually interested in hearing about.

About 15 minutes before I was supposed to leave the house, my friend called to cancel.  I was disappointed, yes, but God had other plans.  He had already been speaking to me this morning, drawing me close to His heart.  So I knew there was a desire in His heart, to have me just to Himself.  I had originally thought about going to our church to play the piano and fellowship with God after I had breakfast with this friend.  So, instead of sitting around the house doing nothing, or getting involved in something else, I decided to go on to the church anyway.

Best decision I’ve made in a long time.

No one else was there, and I made my way to the sanctuary quickly.  I found the light switch for the lights that were directly above the keyboard, and turned them on.  After getting the keyboard up and finding a sound that I liked, I just began to play chord progressions to warm up my fingers.  Not feeling very satisfied with what I was hearing, I began to try out different sounds.  I worked my way all the way through most of the preset sounds, until I reached a sound called “Slow Wood Flute.”

Suddenly, an old hymn came to mind, and I picked it out in the key of F, using this flute sound.  I played it and played it, melody only, and then decided I would try to add a second part.  Then I decided, well, let’s change this a little bit.  So I switched to a piano sound for the second verse and figured out a way to make it sound mournful by using minor chords and 7ths, and some other things.  Then I resolved it, and went back to the flute sound for the last verse.

I was awed and inspired, and overwhelmed.  God had just met me there, alone, in the sanctuary of our church.  He had touched my heart with a new version of a time-worn classic, which expressed the cry of my heart so well.  I would never have had this moving moment in my life, if I had met my friend for breakfast, or gone on with daily chores and usual routine.

Thanks, God.  Thanks for making meeting with me important to You.

Father, in honor of You, I show the words to the song that You touched my heart with this morning.  May this continually be my heart’s cry, in all that I do:

Take My Life and Let It Be


Verse 1:
Take my life, and let it be
Consecrated, Lord, to Thee;
Take my moments and my days,
Let them flow in ceaseless praise.
Let them flow in ceaseless praise.

Verse 2:
Take my hands, and let them move
At the impulse of Thy love;
Take my feet, and let them be
Swift and beautiful for Thee.
Swift and beautiful for Thee.

Verse 3:
Take my voice, and let me sing
Always, only, for my King;
Take my lips, and let them be
Filled with messages from Thee.
Filled with messages from Thee.

Verse 4:
Take my silver and my gold:
Not a mite would I withhold;
Take my intellect, and use
Ev’ry pow’r as Thou shalt choose.
Ev’ry pow’r as Thou shalt choose.

Verse 5:
Take my will, and make it Thine,
It shall be no longer mine;
Take my heart, it is Thine own,
It shall be Thy royal throne.
It shall be Thy royal throne.

Verse 6:
Take my love, my Lord, I pour
At Thy feet its treasure store;
Take myself, and I will be,
Ever, only, all for Thee.
Ever, only, all for Thee.

Words: Frances R. Havergal 1874.

 Today’s Cookie : 

How blessed are those who dwell in Your house! They are ever praising You. Selah.” Psalm 84:4

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

