jump to navigation

When God is Silent… September 9, 2008

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Devotionals.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Have you ever gone to a friend, to ask that person a specific question, because you needed a specific answer?  Has that friend ever told you, “Um…. I’ll get back to you on that.”  So you had to wait?  And wait some more?  And wait, even more?

I hate that, don’t you?  But you wanna know something?  I’ve done that to people myself.  So I don’t really have room to complain about that one.

There are times though, when we go to someone with a problem, and we really need an answer.  And we want the answer right then.  And we can’t understand why we have to wait on the answer.

I can remember, as a child, going to my mom with a question, and either because she didn’t know the answer, or because she was in the middle of something else and her mind was occupied, she would tell me that I had to wait. 

Waiting is hard.  And I’m human; I don’t like to wait.

I really don’t like to wait on God to answer my questions.  There are times when God is silent, very silent, and when I have a question burning in my heart, or I’m facing a problem, I don’t like it when God doesn’t answer me immediately.

To be honest with you, I hate it when God is silent!  I really hate that!

It’s really easy to be religious and say “God’s timing is perfect.” That is, until you’re facing a situation that you really need some advice on, or you really need to know what to do, or how to decide on something.  At those times, when you REALLY need to hear from God, it’s frustrating when God is silent.

Very frustrating.

I had a situation like this, this past Sunday.  I had prayed to the Lord and said, “Please, God, give me something to hold on to.  Give me a sign, a word, something!”  And I was desperate.  And God knew how desperate I was.  He knew I was hurting.  He knew I wanted to hear from Him.  He KNEW!  I didn’t have to tell Him what was on my heart, even though I did anyway.  God knows everything!  Right?  So He already knew where I was at, and what I was dealing with.  And then I opened up my heart, and told Him everything that was concerning me anyway.  So out of His omniscience, He already knew, and then out of my discussion I made sure He knew again.

So I went to church, fully expecting God to speak to me, somehow, and address my concerns.

And I got nothing.

Oh the sermon was good, very good, and I really enjoyed it.  I also really enjoyed worship.  But I didn’t get what I wanted.  I didn’t get something to hang on to.  I didn’t get an answer to my concerns.  I didn’t get what I was looking for.

And God knew that I was disappointed.  As a matter of fact, He knew that I was ticked.  Solidly ticked.  I went home angry.

How could you do this to me, God?  Don’t you care?  Don’t you see what I’m up against?

Of course He can see what I’m up against!  He’s God.

So…. I made lunch for my family, and then went upstairs to the bathroom, and cried.  I wasn’t going to act religious and pretend that I was fine.  I wasn’t fine, and I don’t like pretending.  I wasn’t going to create a scene in front of my family about it, but I wasn’t going to act like I was okay, in front of God.  I was angry at Him for letting me down, and He knew it.

I stewed the rest of the afternoon.  Until I had to go to the store, to buy groceries for that night’s dinner.

On the way out of the store, I sensed that God wanted me to go home the back way.  It really doesn’t take longer, but there’s less traffic and fewer traffic lights.  Less “distraction,” one could say.  So I made my way over to the subdivision across the four-lane from the grocery store, and started meandering through the curved streets at the slow speed of 25 miles per hour.  The easy, slow pace gave me time to think, which I’m sure is exactly how God wanted things to be.

Then suddenly, I sensed Him ask me a question:

“Don’t you realize that I know what’s on your heart?”

And then, came another question:

“Don’t you realize that what’s on your heart concerns Me?”

My heart began to melt as I realized, God had set up this time with me because He was ready and willing to answer my questions, and give me that “something” that I needed to hang on to.  And as we talked on that quiet ride home from the grocery store, He told me exactly what I needed to hear.

My heart was pricked; I was remorseful for my attitude and my behavior. 

But He didn’t reprimand me for acting like a pouting baby.  He didn’t rebuke me for getting so angry.  That’s something that has always amazed me about God:  His infinite, truly infinite patience.

As I pulled into the parking lot in front of our dwelling, God reminded me of something He had told me almost a year ago.  And then He said, “if you had acted on what I told you way back then, things would be so much better now than they are.”

Like I said, He told me what I needed to hear.  And He waited… until I was ready to hear it.

Check your heart.  Go back and think of all the things He has told you.  If God is being silent, at a time when you really need an answer, then there’s a reason.  And it may not be because you’ve disobeyed, or left something out, or forgotten something He’s already told you.  It may be because He’s working on something, or someone, else.  God has a perfect timing, one that we can’t always understand.

So if God is being silent, then there’s a reason.  There is always a reason.

 

Today’s Cookie  Crumb:

Psalm 139:17 “How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How vast is the sum of them!”

Comments»

1. syinly - September 10, 2008

Your story reminds me of Job he waited a long time for God to answer him. I know I had a situation like that recently. I didn’t want to accept God’s answer when he told me, but I finally did. You are right he has perfect timing. He knew when I would be more willing to accept the answer I did not want.

2. The Cookie Lady - September 10, 2008

That’s true. Sometimes the answer that God is trying to give us, is not exactly what we want to hear. But it’s always the best answer, isn’t it?

God always amazes me, with His wisdom, His timing, His love, and His patience. He truly is an awesome God!

3. flippedinsideout - September 12, 2008

What a beautiful reminder! Our motto this summer has been “Through it all, God is faithful.” In the good times, the bad times, the happy and sad times, in sickness and in health, in noise and in the silence. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and for bringing your story full circle. Not only the silence but the answer. God Bless!

4. The Cookie Lady - September 12, 2008

You’re very welcome! And may God bless you, too, as you strive to hang on to His faithfulness in every thing you face.


Leave a Reply

