jump to navigation

Weeding… October 31, 2008

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Devotionals.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Weeding is hard….

I remember the garden I had at the last house we lived in.  I liked my garden, and endeavored to spend as much time in it as I could.  It had three levels, and different flowers on each level: Sweet Williams,  marigolds, candytuft… all beautiful flowers.  Each year I would replace whatever needed to be replaced, to keep the garden full and create quite an eyeful of color.  When it was in good shape, it was beautiful.

And I used all the usual means to keep weeds out, but you know how weeds can be.  Even when you work at gardening on a daily basis, you just can’t keep weeds from showing up!  They come anyway.  Which is very irritating to me.  I mean, I’m doing the best I can, right?  Why do weeds have to come and mess things up??

But I didn’t make the idea of gardening a daily habit… though I wanted to.  I really had the best of intentions.  But days would pass, and no gardening time would be available.  So, the weeds would come, and I would walk out expecting to see a garden of beautiful flowers, only to find that they were being choked out of existence by these horrible, wretched things that looked so ugly.  I had, once again, forgotten to spend time in the garden daily.  And boy, was it evident!

I don’t like weeding.  I really don’t like reaching down next to the soil, and pulling at something for all it’s worth, and disrupting the soil.  I especially don’t like pulling a weed up out of the ground when it is near one of the beautiful flowers that I love, because I know it will disrupt the plant that I wish to keep.  The roots become involved with one another, and then… pain!… the flower is lost along with the weed I desire to throw away.

Of course, it’s not always that bad.  But sometimes when gardens are not tended to as they should be, then weeding can be painful and difficult.  And sometimes, if the situation is desperate, the entire garden must be dug up, and everything removed, so that the garden can be “rebuilt.”

So it is with our hearts.

A person’s heart — the mind, will and emotions — is soil, to be sure, and God desires for us to be good soil, in which He can plant numerous types of beautiful “flowers.”  And when we stay on top of the condition of our hearts then the flowers can grow, unhindered by “weeds” that the enemy would try to plant.

However, when we get too busy, and forget to tend to our gardens, weeds can sneak in and take over.  And sometimes they grow beyond being mere distractions or nuisances, to become real dangers in our lives.

Or, we could have the wrong “balance” in our garden, too much of a certain ingredient, and this allows only one type of plant to grow — such as a weed — and keeps other plants from growing at all.  The soil may be too acidic, or may be too alkaline, and thus prevents the growth of the flowers that God intended.

Or, worse still, we could harbor a “weed” that shouldn’t be growing there in the first place.  That weed could be any of a number of things, such as a hurtful experience from days gone by, or a traumatic experience that has not been fully dealt with, or grief from a loss.  The possibility of weeds is as numerous, if not more so, than the different types of flowers we can grow in our “garden hearts.”

And sometimes the Master Gardener must come in, and do the weeding Himself.  And that, my friend, is a most painful experience indeed.  Even though He is the most gentle of gardeners, and incorporates great Love and patience in the operation, when He goes for the root of a weed, He intends to get it all out.  So He reaches down deep, and gathers it all in His mighty hands, and does not leave any straggling pieces behind that would grow into another sinister plant.  Yes, it’s true: when the Master Gardener is finished with the weeding process, no matter how long it takes, it is complete, and the soil is returned to a usable state.

I am going through one of those weeding processes now.

And though I know it’s necessary, because there have been things growing in my heart that I didn’t even realize were there, it’s still not an easy thing to go through.  There have been numerous days and nights of tears, and periods of questioning God, and wondering if I was losing my grip, as the roots of old hurts and painful memories have been brought to the surface.  I know the Hands that hold my heart belong to a God that loves me without measure, but I still have looked at Him and asked, “WHAT are you DOING???”  Only to be answered with, “It’s needful, and it’s time.”

This has been going on now for about three to four months.  I knew that something was about to happen when I began to get irritated and agitated for apparently no reason.  When the littlest of things begins to unsettle me in huge ways, then I know that all is not right within me, and I begin to search my heart for what might be lurking there.  I thought I had found the weeds that needed to be attended to.  Not so!  I found some “end results” — some seed pods ready to burst, sending their illness to other parts of my heart.  But I hadn’t discovered the “root cause.”  And so, the Master Gardener stepped in, to do what He does best: root clearing. 

It has not been easy at all.  My only prayer is that when the weeding process is finished, and He smoothes out the dirt, He will find a garden still usuable, and still capable of producing beauty for the world to see.

I think this next planting season, I’ll let Him pick the flowers…

 

 Today’s Cookie  Crumb:

“But the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop.” Luke 8:15

Comments»

1. syinly - November 2, 2008

Thank you Cookie Lady, God must have told I need to read. He has removed so much from my garden ( life ) this year. I lost my boyfriend, my home, car, jobs. I thank Him thought he could have taken my life but he didn’t

2. The Cookie Lady - November 2, 2008

Wow…. BLESSINGS to you, syinly. I know that these times of weeding, just like pruning, can be hard. But God is able to keep you — KEEP YOU — in the palm of His hands. Trust your future to His hands, because that is where you are right now. Not in the hands of “fate,” but in the hands of your Loving Father in Heaven. Especially at these times when you don’t understand, or when you are going through pain, cling to Him. And ask Him to bring lots of people around to keep you company during these times, good people who can encourage you. Don’t wander off alone — that’s the worst thing you can do. Stay connected, and stay in touch!

Blessings to you again!

3. jgonzalez1121 - November 16, 2008

You cant give up, you have to keep you’re garden beatyful and continue fighting with the weed.

4. The Cookie Lady - November 16, 2008

True. That’s very true. Weeding is something you have to do continually. I think that’s why the Bible says we are to “guard our hearts.” If we don’t “guard the garden” by keeping a lookout for weeds (sin, bad habits, bad thoughts, etc.), then they sneak in and develop big roots… and then we have a big problem!

5. Matt - December 16, 2008

Great metaphor, I’ve heard so many about staying in the word daily that they have become trite, but this one was refreshing. In my devotionals lately I have been doing Colossians, and this brought Colossians 2:6-7 to mind immediately, it says, ” So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.” Just the word rooted stuck out to me reading through your description of weeding your garden and roots getting tangled.

6. The Cookie Lady - December 16, 2008

Wow, Matt. Thanks for the complement!

Being rooted and grounded and built up in Him… wow… it’s a life-long thing. And you’ll think at times that you’re not growing at all, but you really are. There is so much that goes on “under the surface” of the soil, that we don’t see, that the Spirit does inside of us. And you have to stay in faith that God will perfect what concerns you, you know?

I’m glad you mentioned thankfulness, because that’s an area that I need to work on. I think thankfulness is the “tiller,” because if you can keep a thankful heart, then you can keep the soil of your heart “broken up” so that water and air can get in and keep the ground fresh.

Thanks for stopping by! Please feel free to comment again! God bless you!


Leave a Reply

