jump to navigation

Being “prayerfully watchful” June 2, 2009

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Devotionals.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I hit my son’s car this past Saturday.

Backed right into it.

Ouch.

I knew there were going to be some lessons that would come from this experience.  So I’ve been patiently waiting for those lessons to be revealed to me.  So far, I’ve learned two.  There will probably be more.

The first lesson I want to share is about thoughts.  Thoughts are tricky things.  Most of us don’t even realize how many thoughts we have throughout the day.  Our minds are constantly thinking.  And yet… do we pay attention to those thoughts?  Always?

I had a thought… just before I left my house, and hit my son’s car.

It was what some would call a “fleeting thought” and as it quickly ran through my mind, and then vanished, I didn’t give it much time to register at all.  So I bounded out the door to my meeting, jumped in the car, and… WHAM!  Hit my son’s car.

What was the thought, you ask? 

“Get your son to move his car.”

Yep. The thought was there.  Because after I finally settled down from the trauma of wrecking my sons’ car, the thought came back.  I remembered thinking that thought, as I grabbed my keys and raced out the door.

Some would say, “oh, that was just common sense.”  Others would say, “your mind was thinking two steps ahead.”  Well, I don’t think so.  I think in His loving way, God was speaking directly to me, because He knew what was coming, and He was trying to avoid… an accident.

God loves us enough, to try and keep us out of trouble.  But how many of us don’t take the time to listen?

I’ve been reading a book recently that discusses practical steps for becoming more of the type of Christian we all long to be.  One of the topics discusses how we need to become more “prayerfully watchful,” making a habit of listening for God’s still, small voice during our busy lives.  Plainly said, we are just too busy with our schedules and our appointments and our lives, to give God His due.  So the author of this book states that we need to slow down, and take time to really listen for God’s promptings, and act on what we hear.

If I had done so, we wouldn’t be facing a car repair.  And my son would be a bit happier than he is at the moment.  And I wouldn’t feel so bad about ruining my son’s now not-so-nice car.

So… I ask you all: are you taking the time to be prayerfully watchful? Are you listening for God’s still, small voice as you move through your daily lives?  How many of us, because we are so busy, miss what God is saying to us?

Stop. Get still.  Listen. 

You might be surprised at what you hear.  🙂

Today’s Cookie Crumb:

“My sheep recognize My Voice. I know them, and they follow Me.”  John 10:27 from The Message

Comments»

1. syinly - June 2, 2009

It is interesting how God can use anything to teach us a lesson. At least it was just a car and not your son you hit. Thank you for sharing the lesson.

2. The Cookie Lady - June 3, 2009

Yes, it was only the car. Of course, I completely freaked when I saw what I had done. We are getting it fixed, but oh how I wish I had just slowed down and listened to that still, small voice. Believe me, I am trying to do that minute by minute now, or at least as much as I can.

Blessings to you, syinly!

3. Chuck Balsamo - June 7, 2009

Nice blog site cookie lady!! Wow… very good stuff! God bless you this year… with big FAVOR and great success! =)

Chuck Balsamo

4. The Cookie Lady - June 7, 2009

Wow, Pastor Chuck…. THANK YOU. You honor me with your comments. Please come back anytime. I would love to hear any wisdom and advice you would like to share.

Love your blog too! Be blessed!


Leave a Reply

