jump to navigation

Jack and Faye… and don’t forget Clay! June 28, 2009

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Journeys.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Life has a way of being a fun ride, ya know?

Through my good friend Rich, I have been the recipient of many good acquaintances which are turning into very good friendships.  I am indeed blessed.

Four of these fine friends I had the opportunity to meet, last weekend on my trip to Kissimmee, Florida.  One of them is Connie, Rich’s wife, and I would love to tell you about her again, but she might fuss at me for that.  <smiles>  So in this post, I will tell you about the other three. 

First there’s Jack and Faye.  They were my companions on my very first commercial flight.  As a matter of fact, Faye is the reason I took the flight.  She found out that tickets to Orlando were exceptionally inexpensive through two airlines, so she emailed me and told me I should take advantage of the wonderful prices, so I could travel to see Rich and meet Connie.  I am eternally indebted to Faye for thinking of me.

Faye is a writer.  I have had the opportunity to read one of her books, and it touched my heart deeply.  She has a wonderful writing style, very heartwarming and down to earth.

But more than that, Faye is someone who loves God with her whole heart, and loves serving God through working for her church, and helping other people.  She is diligent and energetic, and has such a positive outlook on life.  But even more than that…

Faye is… fun. 

She’s just fun to be with!  She loves to laugh and cut up, and she tells some really neat stories.  While we were in Kissimmee, her home town, Faye didn’t just drive me around town and show me things.  Instead, she shared her growing up experiences with me, and made the town of Kissimmee come alive.  I didn’t see just buildings, I learned a history.  It was quite a treat.

And Jack?  He’s a laid back kinda guy, with a warm smile and a witty sense of humor.  He’s a very down to earth person, with a lot of “life experience,” which translates into mega amounts of wisdom.  He’s got a smart head on his shoulders.  He’s the one that everyone turns to for help, which makes sense because… he’s good at helping people.

Not only that, but he’s also good at telling stories, just like Faye.  So, being with the two of them meant conversation last weekend was never dull.  I sat in the back seat of the car, or across the table from them at meals, and listened with keen interest as whole new worlds of people and experiences opened up, right in front of me.  It was phenomenal.

What I enjoyed the most was how Jack and Faye relate to each other.  Their love and respect for each other is clearly evident in everything they do and say, even when they’re joking with each other.  It was refreshing.

And they never made me feel like I was a burden, not once during the entire trip.  They welcomed me into their weekend, and I was blessed.

So, thank you, Jack and Faye.  You’re awesome!

Well, then… I can’t forget Clay!  If I did, that would be really, really bad.  Besides, Rich might fuss at me for that, which would never do.  <smiles>

Ah, Clay… gracious and kind and soft-spoken.  I had the awesome opportunity to sit beside him at breakfast, while we visited with Rich and Connie.  I felt like I was in the presence of  a very famous person, and in reality, I was!  Clay has performed in New York City, and other places as well.  The conversation between Clay, Connie and I (with me mostly listening) was about Clay performing on Broadway.  I was totally enthralled.  A real actor! on a real stage!  I wanted so badly to get his autograph, but I never did ask.  I’m sure he would have given it graciously though, after he asked “why do you want MY autograph??”   Clay is a very humble person, with a very caring, compassionate and gentle nature.  And a wonderful, warm smile that can light up a room.   

Clay has also been abroad to Paris, one of my favorite cities. I wanted so badly to dominate the conversation by asking him all about his trip to Paris, but that would have been entirely rude.  Besides, I was really enjoying all of his stories about New York. 

Clay is also a writer.  He writes screenplays, and though I’ve not had the opportunity to read one as of yet, I’ve been told by people in the know that he is very, very talented and that his screenplays are topnotch.  So I’m eagerly looking forward to his next project making it to the screen!  When will it be, Clay?  I hope you’ll let me know!  Then I really will ask for your autograph!  <smiles!>

But the thing that impressed me the most, is that someone such as Clay who is way above my level as a writer, would take the time to listen carefully to me as I talked about my own projects, and would offer advice to help me along.  Clay didn’t have to do that, but he did it anyway.  Which goes to show the type of attitude he has toward other people.  I was so honored by that.

And once again, I was blessed.

Thanks, Clay.  You, sir, are awesome!

Three friends, and a wonderful weekend, as we all celebrated our good friends Rich and Connie. 

You know what? I don’t think it could have been any better, even if God had scripted the entire thing.

But wait…

Maybe… He DID.

Comments»

1. syinly - June 29, 2009

Cookie Lady, sounds like you had a wonderful time. That’s great. You shared about these wonderful writers and performers but no hyper links to their books or shows. If Faye wrote a book about God or something dealing with Christianity I would be interested in knowing more about it especially after the way you described her.

2. The Cookie Lady - July 2, 2009

Hey, syinly!

You’re absolutely correct, I should do that. As soon as I get permission, I will post links.

Thank you so much for your interest! I’ll keep you posted!


Leave a Reply

