jump to navigation

Eat Up, Me Hearties! July 13, 2009

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Journeys.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Sorry I haven’t posted in so long.  Things around here have been rather busy.  (but aren’t they everywhere, Cookie Lady?  Yeah, yeah… I hear ya!)

Okay, now for the last segment of the report of my weekend in Kissimmee, Florida. 

FOOD!!! 

And GOOD food at that!  Oh, my word!

Faye took me to some of the BEST places to eat.  And my report of the weekend wouldn’t be complete, if I didn’t share with you all information on these fine eateries. 

 Friday night’s dinner was at The Catfish Place in St. Cloud near Kissimmee.  Now, if you don’t like fish, this might not be your place.  I love fish, though catfish has never been my first choice.  When I told Faye this, she laughed and said, “Well, more than likely all you’ve ever had is farm-raised catfish. This catfish is not like that at all.”  Intrigued by her comment, I gave her a puzzled look, to which she smiled and responded, “catfish just tastes better with a little dirt in it.” 

Okaaaaayyyyy… dirt.  Hmmmm… I was further intrigued! 

I ordered the “all-you-can-eat” platter, just like everyone else, and very quickly found out that… one platter was all I could eat!  But oh, the food was amazing!  I have NEVER had catfish that good!  As far as I’m concerned?  Bring on the dirt, ha ha! 

Flounder?  Tuna?  Move over.  I think I’ve found a new flavor in seafood.  :O)

But it has to be there, at The Catfish Place, in St. Cloud near Kissimmee.    So check it out for yourself!  (YES, I would make a trip just to eat there!)

Okay, Saturday morning was breakfast at Cracker Barrel, as I mentioned in “An Element of Grace.”  Since I’m sure that everyone knows what the food is like there, I won’t repeat myself.

So on to lunch.  Once again, Faye knew of a local eatery that she wanted me to try, a barbecue place called “Fat Boys.”  I like barbecue, I do, but I just don’t eat it very much.  I told Faye going in to the restaurant that I knew of another barbecue place that was very famous and had been written up in nationally syndicated magazines, for its exceptional cuisine.

Heh. All I can say is, the “other” place just lost its ranking, in my book.

I had a friend once that had this to say when something was exceptionally good to eat:  “The food’s so good, don’t get any of it on your forehead, because you’ll knock yourself out, trying to lick it off with your tongue!”  Rather goofy, I know, but it gets the point across.

GOOD barbecue! Oh, my word!  It just doesn’t get any better than this!  Fat Boys rules!  Not only was the barbecue top notch, but the service was impeccable.  Our server was more than gracious, kind and helpful.  She treated us like we were long-standing citizens of the town, like we belonged there.  I was impressed.

Want the best barbecue on the planet?  Better get down to Kissimmee then, because you won’t find it anywhere else.  Fat Boys! The best barbecue with all the trimmings.  It made a “believer” out of me!

And the other thing that I enjoyed about these two places is that they were tastefully decorated with lots of memorabilia from the area.   Photos of people, notices of events, newspaper articles, awards… all things that speak of local pride.

Now, the “Pièce de résistance, as the French say…

Joe’s Crab Shack.

OH… my… WORD!

First of all, I know it’s a chain, but I’ve never been to a “Joe’s” before.  I had heard about it, and had seen pictures of this one, from times when Rich and his family or other people had eaten there, and posted pictures on Facebook.  I knew it to be a wonderful place for family fun.  I knew it had great food.

But I had never experienced eating at Joe’s.  And like so many other things, there is a difference between knowing about something, and experiencing it for yourself.

It was, for me, the crown jewel of eateries in the entire area.  To watch the servers dance, to be treated so wonderfully, to be served such fantastic seafood…

It was the best, the absolute best.  As my T-shirt from the Shack says, “One shell of a good time”!  So find your way to Joe’s Crab Shack,  at 10 Blake Blvd. in Celebration, Florida, (once again, near Kissimmee) and…

Eat Up, Me Hearties!

Comments»

1. unrelatedpatterns - July 14, 2009

I like the Catfish Place, hardly get down there anymore but they’re phenominal. Very home made tasting, and I mean that in a good way.

2. The Cookie Lady - July 15, 2009

Hey there, friend! SO good of you to come visit my blog! YES… the Catfish Place! How yummy! I will be making another trip down there, just to eat there again. Of course, I would also LOVE to go fishing somewhere nearby (Lake Toho?) and catch my own catfish too! Just a neat place, all the way around.

Thanks for visiting! Please come back soon! And I will be visiting your blog, too!


Leave a Reply

