jump to navigation

Life’s Little Surprises August 9, 2009

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Devotionals.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Ya know, if I didn’t know better…

But I do know better, so I won’t go there.  :O)

Ten days ago, a tree fell on my mom’s house. 

Laid over from the roots.

Went “Kah-BLAM!”

And the whole house shook.

Thankfully, the whole house didn’t cave in, and my mom — who was fixing her lunch at the time — got out without a scratch.  But the house?  Well, it has a lotof scratches.  Too many “boo-boos” to put band-aids on, so it has to be rebuilt.

It took us three days to convince Mom that she couldn’t live in her house any more.  But she finally gave in.  I think the crushing blow (oops, golly, probably shouldn’t have used that analogy) was when we told her that she couldn’t store food in the fridge, since the power lines to the house had been cut.  No food storage meant no pimento cheese.  And you probably wouldn’t get the implication of that, unless you really knew my mom.  Eh, well, inside joke.

So I’ve spent the last ten days, talking to dozens of people — oh, her car was totalled as well, by the tree also falling on it — and answering dozens of questions, and watching dozens of limbs and branches being cut and chipped and chopped and hauled away.  And I’ve inspected rooms dozens of times, and packed dozens of things, and thought dozens of thoughts, such as how will I get access to all of Mom’s accounts?  Do I know where she has accounts?  Where is Mom going to live now?  How will she get around?  Should she drive anymore?

See, Mom’s memory is failing.  Has been for some time.  But we didn’t really know how bad it was getting, until this happened.  And then, reality started to sink in.  She didn’t recognize my older brother at one point during this ordeal, and then one night while we were all in one motel room eating ice cream, she asked my brother who her roommate was.  And it was me she was referring to.

That was a shocker.

Well, to make a long story short, Mom is doing okay (as well as can be expected), and all of us kids are doing okay.  Shaken mentally and emotionally as badly as the house was shaken physically, but doing okay.

But I will tell you one thing:  without the prayers of my friends?  I know I wouldn’t be doing this well.  Yet, not only their prayers have helped, but also all the other things they’ve done, just because they love me.  And I love my friends, too, you know?  God has blessed me with a lot of really great friends.

See, real friends, good friends, and true friends are those that step in when life hands you “little surprises,” those issues and incidents that have the ability to knock you right out of the saddle.  Real friends will be there, even if you haven’t been friends for very long, to help you get back on your feet.  Good friends will be there, to keep you going forward, when you’d really rather quit.  True friends will be there, to stand by you, and give you strong, solid advice, even when it hurts to hear it.  But they’ll add in enough “sugar” to help the “medicine” go down.  🙂

I have lots of real, good, true friends.  Most of them I’ve only known in the past year or so.  Some I’ve gotten to know over the last four years.   Some I’ve known a whole lot longer than that.  But the length of the friendship doesn’t matter; rather, it’s what you do in that friendship that makes it what it is.

So to Ellen, Lisa, Kyle, Ken, Faye, Jack, Connie, Aimee, John, Sandy, Sarah, Carolyn, Paul, Josh, Clay, Gerrie, Gwen, Buddy, Chase, Rick, Dave, Doug, Andy, and all the others all over the place…

Thank You.

Thank you so much for showing true Christian compassion.    Each and every one of you reminds me of the verses that say, “I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me.” (Matt. 25:35-36) 

All of you have given me the food of Godly wisdom, the drink of a positive outlook, the open arms of friendship, the clothing of acceptance without judgment…  When I was “sick at heart,” you reminded me it wasn’t so bad, and when I felt trapped by all that was coming down around me, you stepped in and bore my burdens through your prayers.

Without all of these friends, and so many more, this little 30,000-pound “surprise” would have been too much to bear.  Yep, that’s right.  The tree weighed approximately 15 tons.  A ninety foot tall black oak tree, with a diameter at the base of about 4 feet, and a crown on top that spanned at least 60 feet side to side, if not close to 100 feet.  We estimate the tree was betwee 100 and 125 years old.  Quite the majestic sight; that is, until it fell.

Well, if that wasn’t enough…

… this morning I sit in the OR waiting room, while my husband undergoes an emergency appendectomy.  Yes, that’s right.  It came on suddenly yesterday afternoon, around 1:00, and by 10 PM, he was crying and moaning and in some serious pain.

Ah, life’s little surprises…

But through it all, I have the comfort of my Lord, and the compassion of my friends.

Especially another recent friend in my life, another Sandy, sweetheart that she is, who commented to me this morning, “Um… have you been praying for patience lately???”

Ha ha…. NO, Sandy, I have not! I suppose this newest “little surprise” came for some other lesson I needed to learn!  I hope I learn it quickly!

 

Today’s Cookie Crumb: 

“Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.”  Galatians 6:2

Comments»

1. syinly - August 9, 2009

My prayers are with you and thank you for sharing.

2. The Cookie Lady - August 11, 2009

Thanks, syinly. There are days when I feel really tired, but I know that God will sustain me. I will post more about all this, soon.

God bless you! Thanks for visiting!


Leave a Reply

