jump to navigation

God’s Amazing Ways August 12, 2009

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Devotionals.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I am constantly amazed at how God orchestrates things.

We sing the song, “We are one in the spirit, we are one in the Lord…”  but I don’t think that we really get the meaning of those words.

There is a story that I heard a long time ago, and it has stuck with me all these years.  I may not have all the details completely straight, but here’s the gist of what happened:

A woman from the United States was attending a Christian conference.  It was an international conference, with attendees from all different countries.  During a break in-between meetings, this woman was looking over some books at one of the many book tables, when suddenly she heard another woman began to shout.

The other woman was not very tall, and was much older than the American woman.  She was from a far-eastern country, and didn’t know English.    So the American woman couldn’t understand what she was saying.  The odd thing was, the far-eastern woman was pointing directly at her! and was obviously excited.  This made the American woman very uncomfortable, because now all the others standing around were staring at her. 

What have I done? the American woman wondered, that would make this lady so upset with me?  I don’t know her at all!  Still, the far-eastern woman was shouting excitedly, talking extremely fast, and pointing at the American woman.  Needless to say, the entire area was becoming tense.

Finally, someone found another person who could interpret what the far-eastern woman was saying.  When the interpreter asked the woman what she was so upset about, she said to the interpreter, “I know this woman!”  The interpreter looked at the American woman, and said apologetically, “it seems that she knows you from somewhere.”  Puzzled, the American woman replied, “Oh, she must be mistaken.  I don’t know her at all.  We’ve never met.”  The interpreter then turned to the far-eastern woman and told her these comments.

Well, the tiny woman from the far-eastern country began to cry, and then said to the interpreter in her own language, “No, you don’t understand!  I have seen you before!  When I have been in my prayer closet, praying to the Lord, He has shown you to me.  I have seen you, in my spirit.  And I have prayed for you, for many days.  I… know… you!” 

The interpreter turned to the American woman, and shared what the other woman had said.  The American woman cried at the realization of what the other woman was saying, thanked her and hugged her.  And through the interpreter, the American woman learned the other woman’s name, and promised she would pray for her as well.

And two women, who lived across the globe from each other, were touched by God’s amazing ways.  One left that meeting excited, rejoicing, and praising God that He allowed her to meet the woman she had prayed for all these many years, and the other left that meeting humbled and overwhelmed with the knowledge that God had been watching out for her, in ways far beyond what she could possibly imagine.

Father God, You are truly… amazing.

To which He says, “I AM.”

Today’s Cookie Crumb:

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us…” — Ephesians 3:20

Comments»

1. Faye - August 12, 2009

You know my smart-alec remarks… I think sometimes I hear Him say to my mention of His amazing-ness, “Why, yes I am, thank you for noticing.”

Good stuff!

2. mom2fiveres - August 12, 2009

What a great story! I love that God’s ways are so far beyond our ways, so far beyond what we can begin to understand or imagine. Thanks for sharing this.

Cindee Re

3. The Cookie Lady - August 12, 2009

Thanks, Cindee and Faye, for visiting and commenting!

I have ALWAYS loved this story. I remember when I first heard it, it excited me to realize just how we are connected in the Spirit, all across this wonderful planet. And it also makes me realize the power and importance of prayer, you know? I mean, after hearing this story, I was so much more open to the idea of praying for people in other countries, or people I didn’t know personally; it bolstered my faith to believe that prayer REALLY does change things! Since then, my prayer life has been exciting to say the least.

Faye, I love your thoughts and comments! I think they’re wonderful; keep sharing! Your comment has reminded me of another short story I can share. Stay tuned! I’ll be back with more… stuff! :0)

4. syinly - August 12, 2009

Wow, I had never heard that story before. That was powerful. Thank you for sharing (retelling)it.

5. The Cookie Lady - August 13, 2009

You’re welcome! Yep, pretty powerful. :0)

6. Chuck Balsamo - August 14, 2009

Michelle… I love your blog site… so transparent… very FUN and INSPIRATIONAL! Thanks for putting yourself out there for us in EVERY blog! God bless you!

7. The Cookie Lady - August 14, 2009

Gosh, THANKS, Pastor Chuck!

I love your site, too! Which reminds me, WHY have I not posted a link here for you??? At least… I don’t think I have. Gotta get that done! I will get on that, pronto!


Leave a Reply

