jump to navigation

Happy New Year! January 2, 2010

Posted by Michelle Knoll in Journeys.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

And to all, a very blessed new year to come!

(I actually wrote this post on January 1, and consider it the first post for the new year.  But it’s already January 2!  So… I guess I will skip the post for today.  And then again, lol, maybe not!)

Most people partied last night, or went to movies, or spent time with friends and family.  My husband and son went to a friend’s house, to watch a bowl game.  And though it didn’t turn out as we had hoped, it was still a good time of fun and fellowship.

Me?

I stayed home, and pursued the completion of a task:  going through and cleaning out boxes of memories from long ago. I was thoroughly ready to throw out stuff, do away with stuff, empty these boxes and be done with it all…

But God had something different in mind.

What I saw in these boxes energized me, and caused me to look at this coming new year with an added amount of excitement!  Because these boxes held truths about me that I just didn’t remember, or hadn’t ever seen in this manner before.  This all probably sounds confusing to some of you reading this, but right now I’m not going to go into a lot of details.  Throughout this coming year, though, I think it will all come into focus and be explained.  At least, that’s what I’m aiming for!

But briefly, let me share what 2009 was like for me.

This past year was a year of… “judgment.”  Not in a bad sense, but in a sense of evaluation, and of realizing some things about myself.  Certain truths surfaced, and in those revelations, I saw a lot of things that needed changing.  2009 was a year of tears, and a year of regret, and of grieving over things that were lost over the course of my life.

In other words… it was a rough year.

Yes, I lost a good friend in 2009, but at least I can be thankful that we were reunited before he died.  And yes, my mom lost her house, so I lost the house I grew up in and had so many memories from.  The house I called “home.”

But the losses I’m talking about, the things I grieved this past year, had more to do with life decisions and choices I made many years ago.

And I’m not one for “cheesy” sayings, but as I’ve prayed and asked God what 2010 was going to be like, the same saying kept ringing through my head:

“Do it again, in 2010.”

As I’ve prayed over this… phrase… and sought God’s heart on what this really means, hope rises within me, because I believe this year is going to be a year of renewal, and a year of going back to things that I thought were lost completely.  I believe it’s going to be a year of change, but the change is such that certain things will be as they always should have been.

It’s like a phrase I saw on a bookmark while Christmas shopping:  “It’s never to late to be what you might have been.”  This is a quote attributed to George Eliot, and when I saw it, I jumped.  For I felt that God was speaking that directly to ME, as if He was saying, “All those things you thought you had lost… there’s still a chance to pursue them and develop them, and be who you really are.”

And I would encourage you to look at this year the same way. 

I’ve heard so many people say that 2009 was a rough year for them.  Well, if it was a rough year for you, maybe it’s because God was working on some course corrections in your life.  So I would encourage you, seek His face!  Talk to God, and ask Him to show you what this year will be for you.  It’s exciting to think that a new year has opened up before us, and there are new opportunities just around the corner, that will be brighter and more exciting than anything we’ve ever experienced before.

The possibilities are limitless, really, when you think about it.

So please comment, and tell me what you think 2010 will be like in your world, on your path, as the next step to your future.  I can’t wait to hear!

And I’ll be sure to share my journey with you all.

Blessings to you!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

